AI Model Timeline

Tracking the accelerating release frequency of frontier AI models.

Kimi K3.1 Pro

Moonshot AI·

LLMsopen-weightcloud

Overview

Post-trained version of Kimi K3 (2.8T MoE, ~50B active) with substantially larger post-training compute, run as large-scale joint RL across hundreds of downstream domains. Launched on Kimi.ai, Kimi Work, Kimi Code and the Kimi API on 2026-10-23, alongside a Highspeed variant (2-3x faster, same capabilities); full weights announced for release by 2026-11-04.

Capabilities and innovations

2.8T total / ~50B active MoE (Kimi K3 base)1M token context windowText and image input3D modeling (Blender, Three.js, game engines)Agentic coding and financial researchOpen weights announced for 2026-11-04Large-scale joint RL across hundreds of downstream domainsHighspeed serving variant at 2-3x throughput

Benchmarks

BenchmarkScoreSource
GPQA Diamond94.2%vendor
GPQA-Diamond 94.2 at max effort, official launch blog (2026-10-23).
Humanity’s Last Exam (no tools)51.1%vendor
HLE-Full 51.1 without tools, full 2,500-question set, max effort, recorded for comparability with the no-tools HLE used here (Kimi K3: 43.5). Moonshot also reports 70.0 with tools and HLE-Diamond 39.4, neither comparable to this field. Artificial Analysis measures 52.5 on the 2,158-question text-only subset.
Terminal-Bench 4.063.64%independent
Terminal-Bench 4.0 63.64% (± 1.75), measured by Vals AI, rank 3 of 56 (accessed 2026-10-27). Vals AI is the reference harness for this field so values compare across vendors. Moonshot reports 65.7 from the Claude Code harness; Artificial Analysis measures 67.2 with mini-swe-agent on 66 tasks. 4.0 is its own generation and not comparable with 2.x or 3.0.
DeepSWE v1.175.5%vendor
DeepSWE v1.1 75.5, explicitly labelled v1.1, official launch blog. Moonshot states K3.1 Pro was evaluated with the Claude-Code harness, while DeepSWE scores under a fixed mini-swe-agent harness, so this carries the same harness caveat as the DeepSeek and Muse Spark entries. Vendor-baseline check: the competitor rows in the same table (GPT-6 Astra 74.1, Claude Opus 5.5 74.2, GLM-5.3 66.9, DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash-1017 77.0) match each vendor's own published figure, as the blog's footnote says; they are not entered anywhere from this source. Kimi K3 has no value in the table to compare against. Datacurve's own DeepSWE board was not checked.
MMMU-Pro84.1%vendor
MMMU-Pro 84.1 (official protocol, images prepended), official launch blog; 90.0 with python is a tool-use setting and not entered. Artificial Analysis measures 83.9, within 0.2 points.
  • SWE-bench Pro: not reported by the vendor — Moonshot reports DeepSWE v1.1, SWE Marathon v1.1, Program Bench and its internal Kimi Code Bench instead of SWE-bench Pro.
  • MMLU-Pro: independent evaluation pending — Moonshot publishes no MMLU-Pro value. Vals AI measured Kimi K3 (87.97) but lists no MMLU-Pro run for K3.1 Pro yet (checked 2026-10-27).
  • Terminal-Bench 2.x: not reported by the vendor — Moonshot reports Terminal-Bench 4.0 only; no 2.x figure from the vendor or Vals AI.

API pricing

$2 per million input tokens, $10 per million output tokens (USD, cheapest OpenRouter endpoint, checked 2026-10-27)

Architecture and hardware

Parameters
2800B total, 50B active per token (MoE)

Links

    More from Moonshot AI

    Data curated by AI Model Timeline. See the methodology for admission criteria, benchmark eras and source priority.