AI Model Timeline

Tracking the accelerating release frequency of frontier AI models.

Flint

Recursive·

LLMsopen-weightEdge / Consumer

Overview

First model from Recursive (Recursive Superintelligence, Inc.): a 39.8B total / ~2.5B active MoE for local coding agents under Apache 2.0, trained from scratch (pretraining, mid-training, SFT and RL) rather than post-trained from another lab's weights. Recursive states that its automated research system, the Eureka Machine, carried out most of the development. 262,144-token context per the model card. Vendor-reported at launch: SWE-bench Verified 74.2 (mini-swe-agent) and Terminal-Bench 2.1 54.9. A 4-bit build sits at roughly 23 GB, right at the edge of a 24 GB consumer GPU.

Capabilities and innovations

39.8B total / ~2.5B active parameters (MoE)Agentic coding and terminal tasks262K-token contextGGUF and MLX buildsApache 2.0 licenseFirst release from RecursiveDevelopment largely automated by Recursive's Eureka Machine system (vendor statement)

Benchmarks

BenchmarkScoreSource
SWE-bench Verified74.2%vendor
SWE-bench Verified 74.2 via mini-swe-agent (temperature 1.0, top_p 0.95, top_k 20). Era-1 benchmark, recorded only because Recursive reports it. Card not fetchable from this environment; value taken from consistent secondary transcriptions (MarkTechPost, LM Studio, Wired coverage).
Terminal-Bench 2.x54.9%vendor
Terminal-Bench 2.1 54.9 (temperature 1.0, top_p 0.95, top_k 20). 2.x generation, so it belongs in this field. Card not fetchable from this environment; value taken from consistent secondary transcriptions (MarkTechPost, LM Studio, Wired coverage).
  • SWE-bench Pro: not reported by the vendor — The model card reports 89.7 on "SWE-bench Pro v2", a different generation from the SWE-bench Pro tracked in this field (field values sit around 50 to 66). Not comparable across that boundary, so the value is kept here only.
  • GPQA Diamond: not reported by the vendor — Coding-only launch table.
  • Humanity’s Last Exam (no tools): not reported by the vendor — Coding-only launch table.
  • MMLU-Pro: not reported by the vendor — Coding-only launch table.

Architecture and hardware

Parameters
39.8B total, 2.5B active per token (MoE)
Estimated VRAM at Q4
~23 GB, Edge / Consumer class
Quantization formats
GGUF, MLX, MLX-4bit, BF16
Recommended runtime
LM Studio
License
Apache 2.0

Links

Data curated by AI Model Timeline. See the methodology for admission criteria, benchmark eras and source priority.