DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash
DeepSeek·
Overview
Natively multimodal successor to DeepSeek-V4-Flash-0731 and the first model of DeepSeek's Causal Encoder-Decoder family: 40 layers split into a 20-layer causal encoder and a 20-layer decoder, a 552B backbone plus 196B of sparsely-accessed Engram memory, activating 8B parameters per token during prefill and 16B during decode. 1M-token context, MIT license, open weights. FP4 main KV caching at 890 bytes/token and DSpark speculative decoding drive a reported 409.5 tokens/s end-to-end, and DeepSeek prices it at roughly a quarter of V4-Pro.
Capabilities and innovations
Benchmarks
| Benchmark | Score | Source |
|---|---|---|
| GPQA Diamond | 90.9% | vendor GPQA Diamond 90.9, DeepSeek launch table. No independent run yet: Artificial Analysis, which supplied the 0731 entry's GPQA, has not published a V4.1 evaluation. |
| Humanity’s Last Exam (no tools) | 36.8% | vendor HLE 36.8, DeepSeek launch table. DeepSeek also prints 39.1 on the pure-text subset; the full-set figure is used, since that is what every other HLE value in the catalog measures. |
| Terminal-Bench 2.x | 74.53% | independent Terminal-Bench 2.1 74.53%, measured by Vals AI with the Terminus 2 harness (accessed 2026-09-23). Vals AI is the reference harness for this field so values compare across vendors; vendor and other third-party figures stay in the notes below. Replaces 90.6 (vendor). |
| Terminal-Bench 3.0 | 30% | vendor Terminal-Bench 3.0 30.0, DeepSeek self-report under its own harness. Its own generation on its own scale, not comparable with the 2.x or 4.0 fields. |
| Terminal-Bench 4.0 | 31.2% | vendor Terminal-Bench 4.0 31.2, DeepSeek self-report. First 4.0 value in the catalog from a Chinese lab and from an open-weight model, which is the coverage condition the field's FRONTIER_BENCHMARKS entry was held open on. It is not flipped in the same change: unlike the seven existing 4.0 values, which cross-check against each other through the Harbor harness, this one is explicitly run in DeepSeek's own harness, so the bloc condition is met while comparability is newly in question. |
| DeepSWE v1.1 | 74.2% | vendor DeepSWE v1.1 74.2, DeepSeek self-report, explicitly labelled v1.1 (DeepSeek's earlier unversioned 59.3 stays out of the field). Measured in DeepSeek's own harness, where DeepSWE fixes runs to mini-swe-agent, so this carries the same harness caveat the Muse Spark entries carry. The 74.0 and 73.0 DeepSeek prints for Claude Opus 5 and GPT-5.6 Sol are DeepSeek measuring other labs' models and are not entered on those entries. |
- SWE-bench Verified: not reported by the vendor
- SWE-bench Pro: not reported by the vendor — DeepSeek reports DeepSWE v1.1 in its place, the same substitution nine catalog entries since Jun 2026 record.
- MMLU-Pro: independent evaluation pending — DeepSeek publishes no MMLU-Pro value for this build. The 0731 entry's MMLU-Pro came from Vals AI, which has not yet run V4.1. Without it this entry carries only 2 of the 4 era values (GPQA and Terminal-Bench 2.x) and stays out of the 2026+ LLM leadership race; it does enter the coding race, which needs only one coding signal.
- MMMU-Pro: not reported by the vendor — No multimodal reasoning benchmark published despite native image input.
API pricing
$0.15 per million input tokens, $0.6 per million output tokens (USD, cheapest OpenRouter endpoint, checked 2026-09-10)
Architecture and hardware
- Parameters
- 552B total, 16B active per token (MoE)
- Estimated VRAM at Q4
- ~318 GB, Frontier class
Links
More from DeepSeek
Data curated by AI Model Timeline. See the methodology for admission criteria, benchmark eras and source priority.